DBCP Task Team on Moored Buoys (TT-MB)

Terms of Reference
(as adopted at DBCP-XXXVIII)

The DBCP Task Team on Moored Buoys shall:

1. Review and document operational moored buoy systems and their underlying requirements;
2. Liaise with the different communities deploying moorings, including TIP, OceanSITES, seabed observatories, as well as national moored buoy programmes (coastal and global), and promote the development of multi-disciplinary mooring systems;
3. Liaise with the GOOS Steering Committee (GSC) and its technical panels to facilitate synergy between advances in GOOS implementation and the development of operational capabilities, in particular, for sustained coastal observations, analysis and related services by using mooring systems;
4. Liaise with the   DBCP Task Teams and other related expert groups of marine services regarding the need for in situ wave observations;
5. Liaise with the DBCP Task Team on Data Management and other related expert groups regarding establishing and maintaining data and metadata standards to meet user requirements;
6. Liaise with the DBCP Task Team on Environmental Stewardship to promote technologies and practices that reduce the environmental impact of moored buoy operations;
7. Compile information on opportunities for the deployment and / or servicing of moored buoys;
8. Maintain a list of points of contact for moored buoy operators to serve as a network to facilitate international cooperation and communication of significant relevant information to operational moored buoy programs and requests for emergency ship operations such as recovery of drifting moorings;
9. Monitor technological developments for moored data buoys Best Practices and Buoy Technological Developments;
10. Review all relevant WMO and IOC Publications on Instrument Best Practices (e.g., INFCOM) to make sure they are kept up to date, address WIGOS issues, and comply with Quality Management terminology;
11. Provide the DBCP Executive Board or the DBCP with technical advice needed for developing moored buoy programmes, including the issues above; and
12. Report to the DBCP Executive Board and the DBCP at its annual Sessions, with periodically updated Workplans supporting implementation.


The membership is decided at Panel Sessions and is open to all Panel members.

Member Role Country
Kenneth Connell
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research / Pacific Marine Environmental Labolatory
Chair, TT-MB United States of America
Jonathan Turton
Met Office
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Robert Weller
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
United States of America
Val Swail Canada
Bill Burnett
NOAA National Data Buoy Center
United States of America
Robert Jensen United States of America
Weidong Yu
Sun Yat-Sen University
Thierry Carval
Institut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer, Ifremer, Centre de Bretagne
Chun Lin Ning
First Institute of Oceanography, SOA
Champika Gallage
World Meteorological Organization - Observing System and Information Department
Shannon McArthur
NOAA National Data Buoy Center
United States of America
R. Venkatesan
National Centre for Coastal Research
Vice-chair, TT-MB India
Alicia Lavin
Instituto Español de Oceanografía – Centro Oceanográfico de Santander
Long Jiang
Technical Coordinator France
Tamaryn Morris
South African Environmental Observation Network, Egagasini Node
South Africa
Lancelot Braasch
University of California, San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
United States of America
Karen Grissom
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
United States of America
Rita Esteves
Instituto Hidrográfico Lisboa
Tania Daniels
South African Weather Service
South Africa
Christophe Guillerm
Météo France, Centre de Météorologie Marine
To top